Cale Makar’s butt must have been taking up quite a bit of space.
This is the only reasonable explanation for Makar, based on how the rulers explain his wrongdoing.
headquarters He skated to the red penalty box in the face, swearing and shaking his head in equal parts amusement and disbelief.f with 8:32 remaining in the tie game Wednesday. He was sentenced for interference against the Dakota Joshua Center in Vancouver, prematurely ending the Avalanche Force play. It took 32 seconds for the Canucks to score a 4-on-4 game winner.
As for the punishment, “They said I pulled my ass out,” Makar said. “I don’t think I did it there. Maybe I did. I don’t know.”
His coach knows.
“He was fine,” said Jared Bednar. “It’s off and (JT) Comfer’s there. … It seems pretty obvious to me, but apparently not to the way things are in the league, because one night it’s called out. The next night it’s not.”
The so-called asymmetrical call in question is a tackle against a player waiting at the blue line to cross into the offensive area. An tackle, at its simplest, is called when a skater intentionally goes out of his way to obstruct the path of an opponent who does not own the puck.
But in Makar’s case, it wasn’t about going out of his way to disrupt an opponent’s lead. Defending champion Norris argued that he was the first player to occupy the spot where he was waiting. Joshua skated on it and fell onto the ice. Makar was punished.
“It’s interesting. It’s obviously a very complicated conversation, because when you don’t really understand what’s going on, from my perspective, how am I supposed to get better?” Makar said.
He had just begun what turned out to be a two-minute opening statement of sorts, and his entry point into a seven-minute interview focused entirely on the base.
“It has happened now two or three times this year. Is it rough or rough? Whose ice is this? That is the real question.” Is it hard or rough. You have a guy skate backwards into the no-man’s-land, and if I advance, I go in the O-zone to try and sneak up. In that circumstance, Comfer is right there. I think I can go back, but I’ll probably run into Joshua. I check my shoulder to see if he’s going to bump into me. … If I was standing in the area of the attack and someone came across me, whose fault was it?
“Even with their explanation, both sides don’t understand what we’re looking for in terms of what we call it. That’s where my head is.”
Avalanche Centre Nathan McKinnon told Arif Din of Mail High Sports that Makar’s penalty is “nonsensical”, and that referees tend to direct this call disproportionately against teams that enter the zone in a power play; less so in strength.
How would Bednar like to see it called?
He said, “I think if you’re skating across the line, making an intentional selection, and moving to that player’s ice, it should be called an interference.” “I think when you get to the line and stop and occupy the ice, it’s up to the defending player to move around it. That’s the way I see it. You’re entitled to ice anywhere else on the entire rink. I don’t see why you’re not entitled to ice if you’re There early and I stopped power play. But it’s called differently every night. So we’ll have to clear it up again.”
Makar said worrying about referees too much is a “loser mindset”, but reiterated that the only clarity he had received was that he had “stopped my ass”. He said the call comes with a consequence: players will deliberately collide with stationary opponents at the blue line, and catch the whistle.
Makar said if that was the case, then so be it. Colorado should be set accordingly.
“The consistent play on each team is for your D-man to take space away from their forward support in the area, so he has to go around you,” he said. “…and now teams are taking advantage of that, obviously, with players. Which is okay. And it’s just something we need to improve on.”